Please note our new address

1000 County Road E West #230, Shoreview, MN 55126




The Minneapolis School of Anesthesia would like to congratulate Dr. Sandra Kilde for being the recipient of the Agatha Hodgins Award from the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. Dr. Kilde was the director of the Minneapolis School of Anesthesia for many years and a strong advocate of nurse anesthesia education.

The Agatha Hodgins Award for Outstanding Accomplishment was established in 1975 to recognize individuals whose foremost dedication to excellence has furthered the art and science of nurse anesthesia. The award was established to honor Agatha Hodgins (1877-1945), founder and first president of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. A notable pioneer in the field of anesthesiology, Miss Hodgins was one of the first to perfect the nitrous oxide-oxygen technique of anesthesia. In 1915 she founded the influential Lakeside School of Anesthesia in Cleveland and was the visionary force in the establishment of the profession of nurse anesthetists.





The Minneapolis School of Anesthesia offers a thirty-nine month program in Nurse Anesthesia. It is operated by seven members: Hennepin County Medical Center, University of Minnesota Medical Center, North Memorial Medical Center, Fairview Southdale Hospital, Methodist Hospital in Minneapolis; and United Hospitals and HealthEast in St. Paul. HealthEast hospitals, used by the School, include Woodwinds and St. John’s. Clinical experience is provided in the member hospitals on a rotating basis. Each student will rotate to five of the nine facilities during the program. Students also receive experience in a pediatric facility and in a rural hospital.

Graduates earn their Doctor of Nursing Practice degree with a Concentration in Nurse Anesthesia. The Doctor of Nursing Practice with Concentration in Nurse Anesthesia is a cooperative program between the Minneapolis School of Anesthesia and Metropolitan State University. Graduates are prepared to practice in a wide variety of settings and to utilize diverse methods of administering a safe anesthetic.

The Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA) requires that all students matriculating into a nurse anesthesia educational program on January 1, 2022 or thereafter be enrolled in a program approved by the COA to award a practice doctoral degree. The Minneapolis School of Anesthesia has been approved by the COA to award the Doctor of Nursing Practice Degree. The first DNP cohort will matriculate in January, 2021. Further information regarding this transition may be obtained by contacting the school by mail: 1000 County Road E West, Suite 230, Shoreview, MN 55126 by phone/fax: 952-925-5222/952-925-6004, or by email: assist.msa@gmail.com.

The Minneapolis School of Anesthesia (MSA) has been approved by the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA) to affiliate with Metropolitan State University as the degree granting institution for the nurse anesthesia cohort starting in Fall 2019 as well as all remaining master’s cohorts and doctoral cohorts matriculating after 2019. The final MSN cohort will matriculate in Fall, 2021.

Metropolitan State University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. The baccalaureate degree in nursing, master’s degree in nursing, and Doctor of Nursing Practice program at Metropolitan State University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 655 K Street, NW, Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001, 202-887-6791.

The DNP program is approved as an APRN preparation program by the:

Minnesota Board of Nursing
1210 Northland Drive Suite 120
Mendota Heights, MN 55120
Phone: 612-317-3000
Fax: 651-688-1841
Email:  Nursing.Board@state.mn.us
Website: www.nursingboard.state.mn.us

  • Minneapolis School of Anesthesia, 1000 County Rd. E West, #230, Shoreview, MN 55126
    Phone: 952-925-5222 | Fax: 952-925-6004